Search and Rescue team honors Holmquist, Guffey


Each year, the Mono County Sheriff Search and Rescue Team honors one of its members for his or her individual excellence and public service. This year, the Pete Schoerner Rescue Member of the Year for 2012 was awarded to Jeff Holmquist.

Holmquist serves the team as a member of the Board of Directors, and is a past president, vice president, and training officer. Since 2000, Jeff has served the county on 894 team events, including 386 rescues and searches. He has a wide variety of skills, frequently serves as operations leader, teaches training courses, and is one of the team’s key players in all types of missions.

The team honors one candidate member each year with the Rick Mosher Candidate Member of the Year Award. This year the team selected Megan Guffey.

Guffey has been very active and faithful in both her training and in rescue operations. Since beginning her training of April of 2012, she has participated in 35 team events and five rescues and searches.