Holiday? Not for Mammoth racers

While most students spent the past two weeks on winter break, there was no break for members of the Mammoth Mountain Ski and Snowboard Teams.

The athletes used every possible minute to train, including some very early mornings. And for some of the youngsters, Sunday, Jan. 5, the final day of their holiday break, was spent putting all of their hard work to the test. 

The U14 Ski Team spent the day racing at Sugar Bowl; the FIS Team arrived in Utah for four days of tech racing; the Snowboard Team athletes competed on their home hill; and a few local, elite snowboard and freeskiing competitors spent the day preparing for the first day of the Sprint U.S. Snowboarding & Visa U.S. Freeskiing Grand Prix, Breckenridge this weekend, Jan. 8-12.

At Sugar Bowl, the U14s, most of whom were coming out of the revamped and re-formatted Kittredge Cup races, the Jan. 4 boys race there were 81 entries and Mammoth took five of the top eight podium spots.

Charlie Regelbrugge, a first-year U14 won a podium spot in third; Erik Eisen in fourth; Barrett Calvin in fifth; Cole Williams in sixth; and Conner Staley in eighth.

In the girls race, Mack Carkeet was second after starting 69th; Eva Yguico seventh; and McKenna Latt placed 14th for the day.

On Sunday, Jan. 5, four of the top six boys on the podium wore the MMST signature lime green jacket, and that included three repeat medal winners from the day before: Regelbrugge, moving up to take second; Williams taking fourth; and Eisen landing in fifth.

Joining them on the podium was Luke Davenport in sixth place.

In the girls race, both Eva Yguico and Sarah Ellis could only put together one top ten run, but Cary Walker stepped up her game, putting two runs together for 15th.

On the snowboarding front, Mammoth athletes competing in the second and final USASA Unbound giant slalom and slalom races for the season all were aiming for spots at the 2014 USASA Snowboard National Championships at Copper Mountain March 29-April 8.

First-place junior winners in one discipline were Lachlan Blackmore_GS; Trent Wallentine_SL; Skye Inn_GS; Kasidy Nowakowski_SL; Brandon Lampert_GS; and Emmett Hugelman_SL.

Competitors who won a gold medal in both the GS and SL included Chase Baker, Alexandria Simsovits, Jake Langston, Kinsley White, Lukas Berg, Fleur Connolly, Liam Whitely and Laura Whitehead.